Collected works

Why Read Moby-Dick
Viking Penguin, 2011.
See the Why Read Moby-Dick page for a description and excerpt.

The Last Stand
Viking Penguin, 2011.
See the The Last Stand page for a description and excerpt.

Mayflower: A Story of Courage, Community, and War.
Viking Penguin, 2006.
See the Mayflower page for a description and excerpt.

Sea of Glory: America’s Voyage of Discovery—
The U.S. Exploring Expedition, 1838-1842.

Viking Penguin, 2003.
See the Sea of Glory page for a description and excerpt.

In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex.
Viking Penguin, 2000.
See the In the Heart of the Sea page for a description and excerpt.

Away Off Shore
Viking Penguin, 2011.
See the Away Off Shore page for a description and excerpt.

Second Wind: A Sunfish Sailor’s Odyssey.
Mill Hill Press, 1999.
At 22, Nat Philbrick won the Sunfish North American Championship. Fifteen years later he decided to give it another try, embarking on a personal voyage of discovery that took him from the many ponds of Nantucket to the championship in the American heartland.

Abram’s Eyes: The Native American Legacy of Nantucket Island.
Mill Hill Press, 1998.
The little known story of Nantucket’s Native past. Generously illustrated, including a detailed map of the island’s Indian place-names, this book brings a fresh and exciting perspective to Nantucket’s history.

The Passionate Sailor.
Contemporary Press, 1987.
A humorous look at the modern-day sailing scene, with illustrations by Gary Patterson.

For Young Readers

The Mayflower and the Pilgrims’ New World:
The story of Plymouth Colony for young readers.

Putnam Juvenile, 2008.

Revenge of the Whale: The True Story of the Whaleship Essex.
Putnam Juvenile, 2002.
The story of the Essex for young readers.

Books edited by Nathaniel Philbrick and Thomas Philbrick

The Mayflower Papers: Selected Writings of Colonial New England.
Penguin Books, 2007.

The Private Journal of William Reynolds, United States Exploring Expedition, 1838-1842.
Penguin Books, 2004.

The Loss of the Ship Essex, Sunk by a Whale, First-Person Accounts.
Penguin Books, 2000.

Introductions and Forewords by Nathaniel Philbrick

Moby-Dick by Herman Melville. Penguin Books, 2001.
The 150th anniversary edition of Melville’s classic.

Nantucket: The Quiet Season by Cary Hazlegrove.
Chronicle Books, 2005.

A Night to Remember by Walter Lord.
Owl Books, 2005. The fiftieth anniversary edition of this classic account of the final hours of the Titanic.

Remarkable Observations: The Whaling Journal of Peleg Folger, 1751-1754
edited by Thomas Philbrick. Mill Hill Press, 2006